India Time Line History 1900-2000

Date Details
1905          Partition of Bengal
1906        Jugantar formed.
 Muslim League formed in Dacca.
1909  Morley-Minto Reforms
1911 Cancelation of Partition of Bengal
1912 Delhi conspiracy case
1913 Gadar Party formed.
1914 Hindu–German Conspiracy
1915 Ghadar conspiracy
                          Provisional Government of India formed in Kabul.
                          Gandhiji Return to India.
1916 Lucknow Pact
1917 Champaran and Kheda Satyagraha
1919 Jallianwala Bagh massacre
                         Montagu–Chelmsford Reforms
                        Rowlatt Act
1920 Non-cooperation movementKhilafat Movement
1924 Hindustan Socialist Republican Association formed.
1925 Kakori conspiracy
1927  Simon Commission
1928 Bardoli Satyagraha
1929 Central Assembly Bombed by Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt.
                        Purna Swaraj resolution.
1930 Salt Satyagraha
                        Round Table Conferences (India) First
                        civil disobedience movement
1931   Gandhi–Irwin Pact
                         Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev Martyred
                        Round Table Conferences (India) Second
1932 Poona Pact
                        Communal Award
                         Round Table Conferences (India) Third
1935                 Government of India Act 1935
1939 All India Forward Bloc Established by Subhas Chandra Bose
1940 Lahore Resolution
1942 Quit India Movement
                         Cripps’ mission
                        Indian National Army Established by Subhas Chandra Bose
1943 Arzi Hukumat-e-Azad Hind, the Provisional Government of Free India formed by Netaji.
1944 Subhas Chandra Bose calls Mahatma Gandhi as the Father of the Nation.
1946  Royal Indian Navy Mutiny
                        Cabinet Mission
                        Direct Action Day/Great Calcutta Killings
1947    Indian Independence Act 1947 by British Raj.
Freedom from British Raj.
                        Partition of India
                        Pakistan becomes an independent state on 14 August 1947.
                         Hundreds of thousands die in widespread communal bloodshed after partition.         
1948 Mahatma Gandhi assassinated by a right wing Hindu nationalist Nathuram Godse.
                        War with Pakistan over disputed territory of Kashmir.
                        Telangana and other princely states integrated in Indian union
1950                 Republic Day (India)
1951  Congress Party wins first general elections under leadership of Jawaharlal Nehru. (to 1952)
1962 India loses brief border war with China.
                         India won Diu, Daman and Goa from Portuguese India.
1964 Death of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.
1965  Second war with Pakistan over Kashmir.
1966  Nehru’s daughter Indira Gandhi becomes prime minister.
1971 Third war with Pakistan over creation of Bangladesh, formerly East Pakistan.
                         Twenty-year treaty of friendship signed with Soviet Union.
1974 India explodes first nuclear device in underground test.
1975 Indira Gandhi declares state of emergency after being found guilty of electoral malpractice.
                        Nearly 1,000 political opponents imprisoned and programme of compulsory birth control introduced. (to 1977)
1977 Indira Gandhi’s Congress Party loses general elections. Janata Party comes to power. Communist party of India comes into power in West Bengal.
1979 Janata Party Splits. Chaudhary Charan Singh becomes Prime Minister.
1980 Indira Gandhi returns to power heading Congress party splinter group, Congress (Indira).
1983  N. T. Rama Rao NTR’s 9 month old Telugu Desam Comes in to Power in AP marks a new Challenger post Loknayak Jayprakash Nararayan against Indira.
1984 Troops storm Golden Temple – Sikhs’ most holy shrine – to flush out Sikh militants pressing for self-rule.
                        Indira Gandhi assassinated by Sikh bodyguards, following which her son, Rajiv, takes over.
1987 India deploys troops for peacekeeping operation in Sri Lanka’s ethnic conflict.
1989 Falling public support leads to Congress defeat in general election.
1989 National Front (India) Headed by N. T. Rama Rao and led by Janata party formed and stormed in to power with outside support from BJP and CPI.
1990 Muslim separatist groups begin campaign of violence in Kashmir.
1991  Rajiv Gandhi assassinated by suicide bomber sympathetic to Sri Lanka’s Tamil Tigers.
                        Economic reform programme begun by Prime Minister P.V. Narasimha Rao.
1992 Hindu extremists demolish mosque in Ayodhya, triggering widespread Hindu-Muslim violence.
1992 Over 200 people die in Cuttack in Orissa, after drinking illegally brewed liquor in the 1992 Orissa liquor deaths incident. 
1996 Congress suffers worst ever electoral defeat as Hindu nationalist BJP emerges as largest single party. 
1996 The Amarnath Yatra tragedy in which at least 194 pilgrims are reported to have frozen to death in northern Kashmir after being stranded by violent rain and snow storms.
1998 BJP forms coalition government under Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
                        India carries out nuclear tests, leading to widespread international condemnation.
1999                  February Vajpayee makes historic bus trip to Pakistan to meet Premier Nawaz Sharif and to sign bilateral Lahore peace declaration.
                        Tension in Kashmir leads to brief war with Pakistan-backed forces in the icy heights around Kargil in Indian-held Kashmir.
                         Cyclone devastates eastern state of Orissa, leaving at least 10,000 dead. 
2000 US President Bill Clinton makes a groundbreaking visit to improve ties.
                         India marks the birth of its billionth citizen.

You may also like

   Leave a Reply